An important part of my new life’s journey is to rid my diet of sugar and sweeteners.  However, I have had some serious sugar cravings along the way.   Those sweet flavors are very addictive and it can feel impossible to change (believe me, I have often felt like it was impossible)!

So, what have I done to help with those pesky urges for cookies, brownies, frappuccinos etc.?  I have determined to eat enough protein and enough fat. When I have had sufficient protein and fat during the day, it is much easier to stay strong in the face of all sorts of dietary temptations.

How much protein? Well, that is fairly specific per person, based on your build and energy-output for starters, but I make sure that it is a key part of each meal. That means that I rarely, rarely have a meal that doesn’t have some kind of meat or eggs in the entrée.  It can sound a bit daunting at first, but I focus on simpler options like eggs, canned salmon, and organic, grass-fed ground beef for most meals.  I also use dinner leftovers fully to my advantage even if it means I am having Indian butter chicken for breakfast some mornings. 🙂

How much fat? I don’t have a specific quantity for this, but a whole lot more than in the past.  I am now much more comfortable cooking with fats like butter, coconut oil, and olive oil.  Not only are the satiating, but they help the vitamins and minerals in fruits and vegetables to be fully absorbed by the body.  In case the thought of cooking with fat makes you nervous… I never used to use fat in cooking (I was a standard low-fat = heart healthy person).  About a year ago, after extensive reading, I began to use fats much more liberally.  I didn’t change any other part of my diet at that time.  Guess what?  I didn’t gain any weight.   So, don’t be frightened that if you start to use fat you will gain fat.  It doesn’t work that way.

If you are interested in reading more I highly recommend the following books:

  • The Mood Cure – Julia Ross
  • Eat Fat, Lose Fat – Mary Enig
  • Nourishing Traditions – Sally Fallon
  • Real Food – Nina Planck
