After I received our quarter cow from the farm, I tried to give you all a visual so that you could understand how much meat it would be.  All the pictures just looked like piles of butcher-paper packages though.  It was really unclear how much was there.  So, I decided to break it down a different way for you.

Here are the cuts of meat that I received:

  • 2 porterhouse steaks
  • 2 top round roasts
  • 6 sirloin steaks
  • 2 t-bone steaks
  • 2 bottom round roasts
  • 2 sirloin tip steaks
  • 6 rib steaks
  • about 80 packs of ground beef (I am guessing to be about 3/4 or 1 lb. each)

Here is a picture of one of the standard packages of ground beef next to my hand so that you can get a visual of its size (by the way, I have very long fingers…)  Anyways, we paid $382 for our quarter cow.  My family of four + a baby would use one roast or one pack of ground beef or two steaks for a given dinner.  According to my calculations, this means that we spent about $4 per dinner for our meat.  This sounds expensive until you consider that a pound of organic ground beef in the grocery store is $5 and the other cuts of meat are FAR MORE pricey.  So, it really is a bargain.  It is well worth it, if you have the money up-front and the freezer space.

PS – you could easily fit a quarter cow in the top freezer of a standard upright fridge/freezer combo, or in the freezer side of a standard side-by-side fridge/freezer.  Happy meat eating!

