Let’s spend some time in the kitchen.  Real time.  Not the five minutes to pop a Stauffer’s Lasagna into the oven and shake a bagged salad into a bowl.  Not the 2 minutes + stirring for a steaming bowl of Quaker Oats Instant Apple Cinnamon oatmeal.  Some REAL time.  Some REAL effort.

It has been so ingrained in us that it isn’t worth taking time to prepare our meals.  I can feel a part of my brain balking against the notion of putting in hours in the kitchen even as I sit and write this.  But, really, what daily task do we do that can make a bigger difference in our quality of life than our food preparation?!

Food has an amazing power, you know.  It can wield its power for healing.  It can wield its power for destruction.  When it comes down to it, the choice of what food will be is ours.  Are we willing to learn what NOURISHES? Are we willing to take the time to take this simple thing called “food” and turn it into the perfect fuel for our bodies?

I know, I know, who has the time, right?  I get it – we are all busy.  I write this as a stay at home mom.  Sure, I am around my kitchen more.  I have more time to cook than some.  But, I also had three children in four years.  I am trying to home school two of them for their preschool experience.  The laundry piles stack on the couch as I write this.  I get the busyness.

I propose that it is worth it to take time to prepare real, nourishing food.

  • It is worth it because it creates intrinsic value in our food.  We tend to cherish it more and stuff our faces less.

  • It is worth it because it models to our children that our bodies are valuable enough to receive proper care.

  • It is worth it because real food from a real loved one connects family together inexplicably.

  • It is worth it because it creates your culture:  “This is our family.  This is how we do dinner.  This is how we make memories.  This is how we take care of our sick.  This is how we celebrate our milestones.”

Don’t let anyone tell you that it is a waste of your time to make your own food.  We find the time for what we value.  Is food valuable to you?

Time for me to get in the kitchen!  There is dinner to make!  🙂

(This post is part of Nourishing Gourmet’s Pennywise Platter: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2011/02/pennywise-platter-thursday-217.html and The Healthy Home Economist’s Monday Mania: http://www.thehealthyhomeeconomist.com/2011/02/monday-mania-2212011/)

