Recently my mother and I were chatting about her thyroid.  I had never thought much of it, although I knew that she had taken thyroid medicine for many years.  It turns out, her hypothyroidism was caused by an autoimmune disorder: Hashimoto’s thyroiditis.  I couldn’t believe it!  An autoimmune disorder?  Genetically based?  I needed to learn more and quickly.  For her sake and for mine…

It seemed logical to me that I should increase my resolve to be grain and dairy free since I know that those food groups are strongly connected to autoimmune responses.  I checked out books from the library and began to read.  Was this disorder curable?  Were there alternative treatments other than the standard thyroid drugs?  Were there connections to other health issues that I needed to know?

And, then I read it.  Right there in Robb Wolf’s book, The Paleo Solution, on page 94.  “Once the gut lining  is damaged (by eating grains, dairy, or legumes) we are at exceptionally high risk of autoimmune diseases such as Hashimoto’s thyroiditis.”  It was nice to find some information that backed my suspicions.

A few days later, I happened to click on a link that led me to Jimmy Moore’s Livin’ La Vida Low Carb Show where he interviewed Dr. Datis Kharrazian, author of, Why Do I Still Have Thyroid Symptoms? When My Lab Tests Are Normal. And guess what Dr. Kharrazian said in the interview?  That’s right – Hashimoto’s thyroiditis is often triggered by gluten sensitivity.  Eliminate gluten and you eliminate many of your symptoms.

None of the six thyroid books that I got from the library discussed this.  It was as if God placed the information in my lap (in fact, I think He did).  Thanks, God.

This part of the journey is just beginning, but I have hope that it will all become clear.  And, in the meantime I have a thyroid function test scheduled (not that this is the best or only thyroid test, it was just the only one my doctor would give to me until I demonstrated thyroid issues – I know, don’t get me started…)  I will keep you all posted on my results.

If you are one step ahead of me on your thyroid journey, please share your expertise.  I would love to hear it!

