Well, I never thought I would see the day.  To be convinced that I would be BETTER OFF without coffee.  But, here it is.  It all started when I noticed that my energy was really low first thing in the morning.  I began using coffee as my jump-start for the day.  Over time, although I was eating very primal/paleo/real foods, I started to have to drag myself out of bed in the morning.  It didn’t seem right.  Wasn’t my energy supposed to be great ALL day, including first thing?  What about the primal way of waking naturally without an alarm clock?  I was certainly far from that!

In my last post I discussed the connection between being low-thyroid and gluten consumption.  This information was from an interview of Dr. Datis Kharrazian on the Living La Vida Low-Carb show.  I went to Dr. K’s blog and found another post with the some interesting testimonials.  It was there that I first read about another thyroid connection.  It appears that coffee mimics the gluten protein.  So, if gluten causes an autoimmune response in your body, there is a chance that coffee will as well.  I don’t know that I DO have Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, (I took preliminary thyroid blood tests yesterday) but for now, I am taking a coffee break.  Or, a break from coffee, I should say. 🙂

In case you were wondering about Dr. K’s book, Why Do I Still Have Thyroid Problems When My Lab Tests Are Normal?, you may want to check out the book review that the Weston A. Price Foundation did here.  Also, I found another radio interview of Dr. Kharrazian done by Underground Wellness.  Here is the link for that. Finally, here is another interview done by Underground Wellness with Dr. Thomas O’Bryan, who uncovers new information in the field of Celiac Disease and gluten intolerance.

My next post will be on the GAPS diet and why I think that it may hold an important key in recovering from autoimmune disorders.  If you can’t wait until then to find out more about it, here is a very helpful website:  http://gaps.me/preview/

Until then, wish me luck as I try to push past my caffeine headache!

