For those of you who have shared your Hashimoto’s stories here, I wanted to thank you for your honesty.  I hope that this is a place of encouragement for you.  As soon as I find information that you might NOT read in the standard thyroid books, I share it with you.  Hopefully, it helps!

I was listening to Dr. K (if you have read my posts here and here you know that I think Dr. Datis Kharrazian has some extremely beneficial information for those with hypothyroidism).  Anyways, I was listening to his interview at www.undergroundwellness.com and he shared how it was critical for Hashimoto’s patients to supplement with Vitamin D.

I did a little big more digging and found this article by Dr. Friedman who also feels that Vitamin D supplementation is essential for those with Hashimoto’s thyroiditis.  Of course, rather than supplementation, you could take the approach of rehabilitative sun exposure as I discussed here. This is actually the preferred way to increase your Vitamin D stores because Vitamin D that is made in the skin lasts twice as long in your body as the Vitamin D consumed in foods or supplements.

But, for those of us who live in cooler climates and wouldn’t dare bare arms and legs during the winter, I would recommend using Vitamin D3 gelcaps.  I like the Carlson brand – 2000 IU.  My children use the liquid form of Vitamin D made by Wellesse.

As with all nutrition advice, there are some who suggest that Vitamin D is actually a SOURCE of the problems for Hashimoto’s thyroiditis patients.  I would be remiss to suggest that the medical community is in complete agreement on this topic.  In case you wanted to know more, the Marshall Protocol outlines this view.

Personally, I supplement AND I try to get healthy sun exposure.  After reading about Vitamin D, I honestly can’t believe that it is the root problem.  If you need some convincing, take a look at my posts here, here and here, and let me know your thoughts.

At the very least, it might be a good idea to have your Vitamin D levels checked.  Here’s to your health!

(photo credit: nutritionalstyle.com) (This post is part of Monday Mania at www,thehealthyhomeeconomist.com)
