My sweet girl is four.  And, I wanted it to be special, to feel celebratory.  I decided to give a try at party food that was 95% paleo.  I think it worked!

(Super Hero Pumpkins!)

To be honest, it has taken me a long time to have the mental energy to tackle paleo-style birthday parties.  It is hard enough feeding a family of five paleo meals seven days a week.  I just wasn’t ready for the overhaul that it would take.  But, now my youngest is 20 months old, I have been paleo for over a year, and I have more capacity to try new things.  (Just in case you thought I was a hero of health – all through the past year birthdays have still meant pizza and ice cream cake!)

Here was our menu:

  • Organic, Nitrate-free Hot Dogs

  • Strawberries and Red Grapes

  • Veggie Tray with Baba Ganoush

  • Roasted Potatoes

I took each birthday guest (ranging from ages 1-6) through the line and let them pick which foods they were willing to try.  Some only had grapes and a hot dog.  Their choice.  My kiddos had some of everything because that’s what we do around here.

Everyone at the party was surprised and pleased with how tasty the grain-free chocolate cake was.  It was really nice.  The ganache frosting was great – I just poured it on too early and it flowed off the cake a bit while I was spreading it (see their awesome pic with normal frosting + recipe here).  The texture was moist, the flavor was great and it didn’t hurt our tummies afterward.  We will definitely repeat it for future celebrations.

(PS – the sugar flowers were NOT paleo, but very much appreciated by my four-year old :))

All in all, it was a wonderful day.  It brings me joy to know that we can still have a great time, with fun food memories, without totally forgetting our typical way of eating.  I would say someone looks pleased, wouldn’t you?

A very scary lion enjoyed his share of the birthday food, too!

(photos: outdoorcookingmagic.com, 123rf.com, tiny-morsels.blogspot.com)

