Wow!  This past week has been crazy!  For sometime now, my husband and I have discussed whether we would like to adopt a child.  There are many pros and many cons – my mind would start to race a bit…  Will I love this child just like my biological children?  Will I have the capacity to handle if my adopted child needs to pull away from me to seek out his or her birth parents one day?  Will my other children get their fair share of my time and emotional energies as we transition?  Will I have the patience to juggle life for four children?  Questions.  Questions.

(Do these kids look ready for a new sibling?)

When it comes down to it, the most important thing was to know whether God wanted us to adopt.  If He did want us to He would take care of every detail.  It would be the right choice for our family.

So, last weekend I prayed again.  “God, I will adopt if you want me to adopt.  Please show me what is right for us.  In fact, please have someone give us lots of money so that I know it’s what we should do!”  (People do not usually give me lots of money. I don’t know about you, but that is a serious sign in my book!)

48 hours later I went to the mailbox.  Inside was a newspaper with a headline article on National Adoption Day.  One quote stood out from the page:  “God says take in the orphan and the widow.”

And, wrapped inside the paper?  A card from one of my husband’s relatives with $5000 dollars in it.  This relative normally gives about $350 to our family at the holidays.  I don’t know that I have ever seen a personal check for that much money!  Instantly I remembered my prayer.  Wow.  What a clear answer.  God knew what my heart needed.

So, I have been busy getting the application in for our adoption over the past five days.  For those of you who have done this, you know that there is a lot of paperwork initially for the home study.  We are in the thick of it.  Would you please continue to pray for my heart in this process?  I know God is in it, but my faith is sometimes feeble and I need to be reminded.  There are many steps to this journey.

Thanks for reading – I just had to share it with my bloggy friends.  🙂

