I am super-excited to be sugar-free this holiday!  Really and truly.  I am done with feeling gross and bloated.  It feels good to do something so solidly right despite the cultural pressure to do otherwise.  Seriously, friends.  Who knew that sugar was in every single thing consumed this time of year.  I knew it was bad, but it wasn’t until I tried to eliminate sugar that I realized it was ubiquitous.

I do have a confession to make.  I had a handful of dark chocolate chips the other night.  I know, I know.  I went to a friend’s house to bake cookies and somewhere around batch number twelve the chips started calling my name.  I had a few.  One more confession.  I delivered a plate of those cookies to a Sudanese neighbor the following day.  The next thing I knew, I was being ushered into her home, given a tray of lemonade, cookies and chocolates and her wedding albums to look through.  I kid you not.  And, despite how strongly I feel about sticking to my convictions, I am NOT going to be rude to genuine hospitality from a foreigner.  So, I had a few sips of lemonade and a piece of chocolate.

There you go.  Conscience clear.  Right back on the saddle, folks.  I am changing.  Before my dysfunctional brain would have said, “Well, you have had a piece of chocolate.  The whole plan is ruined.  Eat whatever you want, because you have failed.”  Now?  I am more interested in developing lifestyle habits.   That’s why it’s right back to the sugar-free challenge for me.

How ’bout you?  Do you have a strategy for the pending holiday?  I hope it is one that will leave you feeling stronger and free to be healthy, happy, and at peace within yourself.  🙂

Thanks for reading – Crunchy

